Any Durham resident or property owner is entitled to have a library card and to borrow library materials subject to the requirements and restrictions set forth in the application procedure. Borrowing privileges may be suspended or lost if items are overdue or excessive fines and fees accrue.
With the exception of DVDs and videocassettes, a library card holder under the age of 14 has the same borrowing privileges as an adult. A parent or responsible adult must accompany a child, under the age of 14, when s/he applies for a library card. By his/her presence, the parent or responsible adult accepts responsibility for what the child borrows, its timely return and any fines or fees that may accrue.
In accordance with the “Connecticard” program initiated by the Connecticut State Library and entered into by the Library, any Connecticut resident with a valid card from her/his home library may borrow materials from the Durham Public Library, subject to the same regulations set for resident borrowers. Loan periods and fines for overdue materials are set by the Board of Trustees (see appendix.)
Adults: must provide the Library with proof of residency with address, which includes driver’s license, utility bill, Town tax statement or other document, accepted on a case by case basis. A telephone number, either home or cell, is also required. The patron should be encouraged to supply an e-mail address, if available. Adult library cards have an expiration date of five years from the date of issue.
Children: those applicants under the age of 14 will be issued juvenile cards. The child must be accompanied with a parent or responsible adult in order to register for a library card. While there is no age requirement for a child to apply, s/he must be able to print and sign the library card. The parent or responsible adult must provide the same identification as required for an adult borrower’s card. Children may borrow all materials, except DVDs and videocassettes. The child’s card expires on their 14th birthday, at which time they will be given full adult borrowing privileges.
Patron Responsibility: Patrons must inform the library when a library card has been lost or stolen. If such notification is not made, the patron will be held responsible for all items taken out on the card. The patron must also inform the library when there is a change of address. The patron must show identification with their address in order to renew an expired library card.
Out-of-State Borrowers: An out-of-state patron may be issued a one-year card that is marked “Valid Only at Durham Public Library” for a fee of $30. In order to issue the card, the Library requires valid proof of permanent home address and phone number, as well as a local address and phone.
The director may impose a limit on the number of items of a certain format or on a specific subject that a patron may borrow due to heavy demand or other consideration.
Loan Periods, Fines, Lost and Damaged Books
- Most books, including books on CD and tape: 3 week loan period, 2 renewals permitted, unless there are holds
- Fast Track books: 1 week loan period, no renewals
- DVDs and videocassette: a 1 week loan period, no renewals
- Non-fiction (travel, instructional etc.) DVDs and videocassettes: 3 week loan period, 2 renewals
- Periodicals: 1 week loan period, 2 renewals, unless there are holds
- Museum passes: 2 day loan period, no renewals (one per pass per person)
- Art prints: 2 months, no renewals
- Fines are assessed daily for overdue items
- Most adult and young adult materials: $.10 per day, $5.00 maximum
- Children’s materials: $ .05 per day, $2.00 maximum
- Fast Track books: $.25 per day, $5.00 maximum
- DVDs and videocassettes: $1.00 per day , $5.00 maximum
- Museum passes: $5.00, $50.00 maximum
Items that have not been returned within three weeks of the due date are considered lost. At that point, the patron’s card is charged with the replacement cost of the item. The patron is given the option to purchase a new copy of the item in lieu of paying the replacement cost. A receipt is given to the patron upon payment or replacement. If the lost item is found within 6 months of payment, the amount paid, less any fines owed, will be refunded on presentation of receipt; in case of a replacement copy, the patron may keep the original item.
When an item is returned damaged, the Library will determine if the patron should be held responsible for the damage, in which case, the patron will be charged for the cost of the item’s replacement.